US Presidential Libraries

Spread the love

There are 13 Presidential Libraries and one Museum in the U.S. Official Library System, managed by the Office of Presidential Libraries, addressing the 13 latest presidents in U.S. history: Herbert Hoover, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson, Richard Nixon, Gerald R. Portage, Jimmy Carter, Ronald Reagan, George H. W. Hedge, William J. Clinton and George W. Shrubbery. Gerald Ford’s Library and Museum are in two separate urban communities in Michigan, Ann Arbor and Grand Rapids. They are totally worked and supervised by the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). The George W. Hedge Presidential Library, which is briefly situated in Lewisville, Texas, is number 13. The lasting Presidential Center, still under development, will be situated on the grounds of Southern Methodist University (SMU) in Dallas, Texas, the place of graduation of First Lady Laura Bush. Both the Kennedy and the Carter libraries are scheduled for redesigns and facelifts.

Furthermore, albeit not authoritatively endorsed and kept up with by NARA, libraries have been coordinated for a few Presidents who went before the authority beginning of the Presidential Library Office. They are worked by private establishments, recorded social orders, or state governments, including the William McKinley, Rutherford Hayes, Calvin Coolidge, Abraham Lincoln and Woodrow Wilson libraries. For instance, the Abraham Lincoln Presidential Library and Museum is claimed and worked by the State of Illinois.

The homes of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson and John Quincy Adams have been protected as galleries or recorded destinations too. Thomas Jefferson’s home Monticello, which Jefferson planned, alongside close by University of Virginia was assigned an UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1987, just as being a U.S. Public Historical Landmark. The Adams National Historical Park in Quincy, Massachusetts, protects the home of Presidents of the United States John Adams and John Quincy Adams, of U.S. Envoy to Great Britain Charles Francis Adams, Sr., and of the journalists and history specialists Henry Adams and Brooks Adams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *